Archive for July 22nd, 2009

The call.

July 22, 2009

bmw

I’m halfway through my dinner when my mobile shrills the gaudy ringtone of Austin Powers communicator in his Shaguar. Yes, I was so bored I really did record it off the telly one day and download it as my phone ringtone.

Fork paused halfway to my mouth I consider letting it go to answerphone but, well, you never know.

Grabbing the phone I answer it and find myself speaking to the sales manager of a BMW dealership. Yes he got my application for their Sales Executive vacancy, yes he likes my CV, and he’s currently going through the top ten applicants and giving them a ring with a view of whittling it down to three to interview.

OH. MY. GOD!!!

We talk, he tells me about the job, I tell him about my career history, we chat some more, joke a little, we get on. Frankly, we’re talking the same language. At the end of a half hour call that he seems genuinely sorry to have to close he invites me to the dealership next Monday for a formal interview with the Dealer Principle and himself. Could I be there at 2:30pm? I’m sure I could manage that, and thank you very much. The call ends.

YES!!!!!

YES YES YES YES!!

I’ve been applying for many different car brands from Peugeot to Proton. Sales is my bag and cars are my great interest, so what could be better than combining the two?

But BMW!? Fan-bloody-tastic!!!!!

Mustn’t get too excited, mustn’t get too excited, early days now, deep breaths, calm, calm…

I wonder what sort of company car I’d get with them? BMW obviously, but which model? I could just see a 3 Series coupe parked out front in place of the Polite Hatchback. Black leather, sunroof, dark tinted glass, ohh baby.

Stop it! For goodness sake man you’ve not even got to the interview yet and you’re choosing your car now? Have a word with yourself.

I return to my cold dinner and chew thoughtfully.

Yes, mid grey metallic with big alloys. Perfect.