Archive for July 19th, 2009

Disconnected.

July 19, 2009

p

I’m starting to think that the postbox down the road isn’t connected to anything. In my minds eye the box was cut off from the post office system years ago, and instead merely links to a vast underground abyss that gradually fills with the offerings posted into it daily. Years of unseen birthday cards, subscription offers and letters fester and rot, composting from the bottom up as my latest job application floats serenely down to rest atop the huge waste dump of centuries of uncollected mail.

Or am I getting just a tad paranoid?

Either way, there seems to be a somewhat stony silence from the worlds employers to the golden opportunity of adding me to their workforce.

I follow up some recent applications with a phone call to HR. They’re clearly all reading off the same hymn sheet, the message comes back the same each time. Inundated with applications. Working through them at the moment. If I’ve not heard from them within a fortnight I’m to assume my application is going no further. Thank you for your interest. Goodbye.

Perhaps I’ll try a new postbox…