Full circle

Happy days xxxxx

Well it’s been a frenetic few weeks. Christmas has come and gone in a blur, complete with a visit from The Boychild. It was great to have him down again, although we’re firmly into the teenage years now with all that this entails (bless him).

Notice was handed in and gracefully received by Ford although they seemed genuinely sorry that I was leaving. Re-assuringly, both my manager and a more senior figure asked me to stay in touch and to let them know if things didn’t work out, both assuring me that a place would almost certainly be found for me within the group somewhere if I ever needed it. Although I sometimes felt like I’d never get to grips with it in the early days, I’m chalking my brief foray into car sales up as a success and walking away with my head held high. Job well done.

The new year finds The Blonde and I planning new adventures for later in the year, possibly with or without the use of aeroplanes (a drive down to and through Italy is potentially large on the radar at the moment).

The magazine writing finally seems to be gathering some momentum. My last review was very well received, I’ve been given a contract for a new monthly piece, we’re organising the next big review (number three!), and The Editor has asked me to put together a schedule of ongoing reviews for this year. If I can get this finally into some kind of regularity after nearly two years of trying I shall be a very happy Charlie indeed. It does finally appear to be pointing the right way though.

But the over-riding theme of the moment is that I’m now fully ensconced in my new job, back in the world I have known and loved (and loathed at times) for over twenty years, rebuilding contacts and trying to build up business. There’s lots to do but it feels great to be back.

And so, my friends, we reach the end of the adventure as far as the blog goes. The sometimes scary, often frustrating, frequently fun, but never dull rollercoaster ride of redundancy, unemployment, job searching, Polite Hatchback piloting, writing career building, motorway trekking, car sales hustling, Blonde dating, flight angst-ing, sportscar driving, rain dancing, occasional posh hotel dwelling, Boychild parenting, head hunting smorgasbord of life over the last nearly two years see’s me finally back where I started, albeit working for a different (and in many ways better) company.

Thank you so much for coming along for the ride.

11 Responses to “Full circle”

  1. Al Says:

    … And a new journey begins – look forward to sharing it with you
    Love Al xx

  2. Rob C Says:

    Charlie,
    Your blog has been a constant companion and inspiration.

    It’s certainly a good point to stop and I understand why you want to.

    Good luck with everything and thanks again for sharing your journey through employment with us.

  3. AJ2 Says:

    Sad to see you go, Charlie, but it’s been great to follow you through the ups and downs. I can only admire your tenacity and hard work in job seeking. All the best for the new/old career, keep up the good work with the writing and may you and The Blonde enjoy many happy adventures.

  4. Tom Says:

    Thank you for your writing – I wish you the best for your future. Stay happy.

  5. Mark Says:

    Sorry it’s the end but thank you for your blog.

    Wish you all the best for the future.

  6. matt Says:

    Its nice that its finishing on such a positive note. Well done with all the hard work, especially since the job you found was sad to lose you.

    I just tried cyber-stalking you to see where you lived but learned that Charlie Croker is the Michael Caine character from The Italian Job. Ah-ha!

  7. ex-chicken farmer Says:

    Well, well, well Charlie, It has been a hell of a ride, but I am so pleased for you that things have worked out well for you in the end!

    Well done chap 🙂 Really made up for you!!!

  8. Samuel Says:

    Great Blog. I would love to hear what has happened over the last 12 months! 🙂

  9. Mike Says:

    Alright, picked a link up from the Pistonheads car salesman thread. Enjoyed this Blog from start to finish over the last two evenings. All the best.

    🙂

  10. Alan Paterson Says:

    Like Mike I picked this up from the Salesman thread on PH and I’ve just read them all. it’s 5AM (and I’m glad I don’t start work until 1pm!) so i’m going to bed! Great read!

  11. AW8 Says:

    Another hooked reader off back of link from above mentioned PH thread…..got to hooked & read the lot…..Thanks

Leave a Reply

