Once more unto the breach.

Thanks Al :)

Back from our weekend away, a very generous and thoughtful birthday gift from The Blonde, bless her. A trip to Bath, a city of great beauty, warmth, culture and class, much like The Blonde herself in fact. We spent a long lazy lovely day exploring the city, picnicking by the river, taking in the sights and sounds and even a tiny bit of very high level window shopping. I’d have to land one heck of a job before I could see myself returning for the Patek Philippe Calatrava 5296G wrist watch or the Bang and Olufsen Beolab 5 speaker system, but it was nice to dream for a while, and one should never ever say never. I returned replete and rested and ready to launch once more into fray of job searching.

It’s been four months now and as the days begin to shorten with the onset of Autumn and we drift into September I feel a strong sense that I’ve had my lazy summer in the sun and feel a real need to get back into employment and generate some real income. I’m also well aware that I’ve let my eye off the ball over the last week or two. I felt so confident about the Mercedes position. The interview just felt so very positive and being asked to progress to the final stage before they’d even finished interviewing gave me a sense that we were merely into final formalities. I still don’t know whether I got the on line psychometric test so very wrong, or whether in fact it was simply a case of being narrowly pipped to the post. Needless to say my request for feedback has been met with silence, which is disappointing if unsurprising.

And so it’s with all of this in mind that I set forth with renewed vigour in my quest. We’re not beaten yet.

My first focus is of course the Ford position. I liked the set up there very much, and the benefit of locality and therefore avoidance of two hours a day commuting is clearly appealing in terms of quality of life. I’m guessing the Sales Manager should be back in office today, and a call mid morning (I don’t want to leap on him the moment he arrives for work for a variety of obvious reasons) is very much in order.

In the meantime a quick job search throws up a car supermarket sales position (specifically requests previous motor trade experience and not terribly appealing as I’d imagine it’s more about processing units than actual selling) and a local vacancy for a Sales Negotiator for a local estate agency (part of a large chain). Neither job makes my heart zing with joy but this is all about landing an income now, I can think about hunting down something specific once I’m back in the proverbial saddle.

With that firmly in mind I fish out a couple of CV’s, draw the computer keyboard toward me, and set to.

Once more unto the breach, dear friends, once more…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Once more unto the breach.”

  1. Phirefly Says:

    A friend of mine has just moved from working in a main dealership to a car supermarket and he’s raking it in. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

