And relax.

tree

I’m not sure I should admit to this but **whisper** I’m quite enjoying being unemployed at the moment.

I’ve not set the alarm clock since the day I finished work, I get up when I wake up, I have a shower and a leisurely breakfast, then I spend a bit of time in my study through the morning ploughing through the job sites, and bang off a CV or two on the rare occasion that there’s an interesting possibility. After that the day’s my own. Obviously the slight issue of almost zero income is a drawback, shopping trips to my favourite designer stores are out, no chance of a decent holiday, no chance of any holiday in fact, and not much point taking up golf or any other pursuit that comes at a price (and lets be honest, that’s most of them).

A temporary state of affairs (I fervently hope!) it may be, but it’s a carefree existence. If the weather’s not so hot then I’m giving the house a room by room thorough clean (you should have seen under my divan bed! On second thoughts you really shouldn’t have seen under my divan bed…) And if the suns out then a lazy afternoon in the garden with a good book is a relaxing (and cost free) pastime. I really couldn’t have picked a better time to be laid off.

After years of being a slave to the clock, the diary, the office, and an incessant drip of problems to sort out, the knowledge that the peace isn’t about to be shattered by the shrill ring of the mobile and the shrill voice of irked customer with another conundrum is bliss, frankly.

I left school at 16, (I was never the scholar), got my first job in sales in a high street clothing shop, was a relief manager running other shops in the company whilst the manager was away by the time I was 18, and then shifted up a gear when I was 20 starting with the company I’ve just left. Manager of my own office at the tender age of twenty four and nose to the proverbial grindstone ever since.

I potter down to the kitchen for another iced fruit juice and return to the shady spot under the tree in my garden where a deckchair and a book await me.

Perhaps something will crop up tomorrow…

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Responses to “And relax.”

  1. Colonel Panic Says:

    Having just been offered a job after 7 months doing the same (obviously not out on the garden because a. I don’t have one and b. it would have been too cold for alot of the time) I can confirm that job hunting right now seems to be about the law of big numbers.

    After you reach a critical mass of applications through various agencies, some of them will remember you when another position comes up with them.

    The carpet-bitingly bad feedback you get from interviews is a joy you have to look forward to. I have actually made a list of “10 Things Not To Do In Interviews”, only its for employers rather than candidates. I’ve seen the worst interviewers this side of the Berlin Wall over the past few months. Seriously. They need help far more than most candidates.

    All this is a joy you have to look forward to, of course.

  2. lost Says:

    Oh Charlie, be careful. Having not worked for a few years now its easy for th non-imposed need to make one feel too busy to work. I wonder now how I got everything done when I was working and the hours I’d ideally work shrink a little each year. Its true the old adage about ”ask a busy person if you want something done”. I find simple tasks draw out ifI’m not careful.

    For th record, for anyone waiting to kick someone who admits to bleeding the system dry by not working for a few years: I’m not getting anything from anyone’s taxes, don’t panic, I’m a kept woman.

  3. Pat (MSE) Says:

    [quote]an incessant drip of problems to sort out[/quote]

    That, in a nutshell, is what makes what could otherwise be a pleasant way of passing the time while earning a living, into a demoralising, wearying chore. Very eloquently and succinctly expressed, once again.

    Enjoy your freedom from these aspects while you can, they don’t call it the rat race for nothing.

  4. Andrew Says:

    Just seen your blog on TZ – I post as AndrewL there.

    I remember all of this. Lost my job in 2001 with a 3 week old baby to feed. I remember trying to navigate the system of benefits and wrestling with the local job centre.

    But I also remember the joy at getting a job 4 months later and how happy I felt knowing that I was doing something that I wanted to do – something that I am still doing 8 years on.

    Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

